Skip to Content
is a problem some people have with foods that contain gluten. Gluten is a type of
protein found in the grains wheat, barley, rye, and triticale (a wheat-rye cross). When a person with
celiac disease eats gluten, it triggers an immune response that is not normal. This damages the small intestine.
Symptoms of celiac disease can include gas,
bloating, diarrhea, weight loss, fatigue, weakness, and vomiting. Stools may be
bulky, loose, and more frequent. The damage to the intestine also makes it hard
for your body to absorb vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients. This can lead
osteoporosis or both.
can help you learn more about how to eat so you can manage your symptoms,
prevent long-term problems, and still get the nutrition you need.
If you have questions about following a gluten-free
eating plan for celiac disease, talk to your doctor or dietitian.
Eating a gluten-free diet isn't easy. But if you take
your time to read labels and ask questions, you can stay on a gluten-free
Do not eat
any foods that contain gluten. These include foods made with wheat, barley, rye, or triticale (a wheat-rye cross). Common foods that contain gluten include:
Avoid all beer products unless they say they are gluten-free. Beers
with and without alcohol—including lagers, ales, and stouts—contain gluten unless they specifically say they are gluten-free.
Avoid oats, at least at first. Oats may cause symptoms in some people, perhaps as a result of contamination with wheat, barley, or rye during processing. But many people who have celiac disease can eat moderate amounts of oats without having symptoms. Health professionals vary in their long-term recommendations regarding eating foods with oats. But most agree it is best that people newly diagnosed with celiac disease not eat oats until the condition is well controlled with a gluten-free diet.
Carefully read food labels. Look for hidden gluten. Foods such as ice cream, salad dressing, candy, canned and frozen soups and
vegetables, and other processed foods may have hidden gluten.
On a gluten-free eating plan,
you can still have:
When you eat out, look for
restaurants that serve gluten-free food. You might ask if the chef is familiar
with cooking without any gluten. Also look for grocery stores that sell
gluten-free pizza and other foods. The Internet can be another source of
information on gluten-free foods.
ByHealthwise StaffPrimary Medical ReviewerE. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal MedicineSpecialist Medical ReviewerJerry S. Trier, MD - Gastroenterology
Current as ofNovember 14, 2014
Current as of:
November 14, 2014
E. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal Medicine & Jerry S. Trier, MD - Gastroenterology
To learn more about Healthwise, visit Healthwise.org.
© 1995-2015 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.
© Copyright 2016 Rush-Copley Medical Center • 2000 Ogden Avenue; Aurora, IL 60504
Main: 630-978-6200 • Physician Referral & Information: 630-978-6700 or 866-4COPLEY (866-426-7539)